Bellator 145 Results – New Champion Crowned, Lashley Scores 54 Second TKO


Bellator held their Bellator 145 event on Friday night at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, Missouri. Not only did the event feature some excellent fights — including the main event — but there were some big announcements mixed in there as well.

In the main event of the evening, Patricio “Pitbull” Freire lost his Bellator Featherweight Championship to Daniel Straus in what is being called one of the best fights of the year. The fight went the distance, with Straus becoming the new champion by scores of 49-46, 48-47, 48-47.

Prior to the main event, Bellator MMA announced the main event for their next “tentpole” show, which to say the least, was quite the surprise announcement. In what will be their third meeting, Ken Shamrock and Royce Gracie will meet inside the Bellator cage at Bellator 149 in Houston, Texas on February 19, 2016.

In the co-main event of the show, Will Brooks continued to make a case for being one of the best fighters in the promotion, as he successfully retained his Bellator Lightweight title with a unanimous decision victory over Marcin Held. In the first round, Held actually got Brooks in a deep kneebar and things looked serious for a moment, however Brooks would manage to fight out and dominate the action to pick up scores of 50-45, 49-46, 49-46 from the judges.

Former WWE Superstar and current TNA Wrestling star Bobby Lashley improved his professional MMA record to 14-2 with a dominate 54-second TKO of MMA veteran James Thompson. With the win, Lashley managed to erase one of only two blemishes on his MMA record.

Also on the televised portion of the event, highly regarded lightweight contender Michael Chandler defeated David Rickels by way of second-round technical knockout.

Below are complete quick-match results for last night’s Bellator 145 event:

Main Card Fights:
Daniel Straus def. Patricio Freire via unanimous decision (49-46, 48-47, 48-47) to become the new Bellator Featherweight Champion.
Will Brooks def. Marcin Held via unanimous decision (50-45, 49-46, 49-46) to retain the Bellator Lightweight title.
Michael Chander def. David Rickels via TKO (punches) at 3:05 of R2
Bobby Lashley def. James Thompson via TKO (punches) at :54 of R1
Emmanuel Sanchez def. Justin Lawrence via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Preliminary Fights:
Augusto Sakai def. Alex Huddleston via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Chel Erwin-Davis def. Adam Cella via TKO (punches) at :35 of R3
Garrett Gross vs. Jeff Crotty via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Kyle Kurts def. Steven Mann via submission (triangle choke) at 2:59 of R1
Kain Royer def. Clay Mitchell via submission (kneebar) at 3:41 of R1
Adam Meredith def. Jordan Dowdy via submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:54 of R1
Fazlo Mulabitinovic def. Scott Ettling via submission (armbar) at 1:52 of R1

Latest MMA News

Daniel Cormier NYSAC

NYSAC Makes Rule Changes to Weigh-Ins Following Daniel Cormier’s ‘Towel Trick’

There are some changes being made to weigh-ins under the New York State Athletic Commission (NYSAC). Taking the "fool me once, shame on me" approach,...
Volkan Oezdemir

Volkan Oezdemir Was Expecting to Face a Higher Ranked Fighter at UFC Fight Night...

Volkan Oezdemir wanted a high-profile bout tomorrow (May 28), but he's getting a fellow prospect instead. Oezdemir made his Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) debut back...
Cub Swanson Reebok

Cub Swanson Feels he Could be Next For Featherweight Title Shot

Cub Swanson believes he'll leapfrog Frankie Edgar to get the next featherweight title shot. Swason was last seen inside the Octagon in April. He defeated...
Glover Teixeira

Glover Teixeira Says he Visualizes Many Ways to Defeat Alexander Gustafsson

Glover Teixeira has victory in his mind. Teixeira is fighting tomorrow (May 28) in a crucial light heavyweight bout. Going one-on-one with him will be...
Misha Cirkunov

Misha Cirkunov Says Light Heavyweight is One of The Toughest Divisions

Misha Cirkunov believes he's deep in the trenches in a dangerous division. Cirkunov will compete tomorrow (May 28) inside the Ericsson Globe in Stockholm, Sweden. Sharing...
Norman Parke (UFC on YouTube)

Norman Parke Suffers Finger Bite During KSW 39 Title Fight

KSW 39 set an attendance record in Warsaw, Poland earlier today. Featuring five title fights and a champion vs. champion main event, the card...
Rory MacDonald

Rory MacDonald Wants Two Bellator Title Bouts This Year

Rory MacDonald sees gold in his future, but one title simply isn't enough. "Red King" made his Bellator debut a successful one inside the SSE...
Alexander Gustafsson

Alexander Gustafsson Says He’s Worried About Glover Teixeira, Not Title Shot

Alexander Gustafsson won't let a potential title shot hinder his focus going into UFC Fight Night 109. "The Mauler" is set to compete against Glover...
Cat Zingano

Cat Zingano on UFC-Reebok Deal: ‘Everyone’s Upset About it’

Cat Zingano didn't walk out of the Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC) retreat feeling any better about her position with the promotion. Zingano recently told
Francis Ngannou

Francis Ngannou vs. Junior dos Santos Possible For August Bout

Francis Ngannou wants a big fight and he may get just that late summer. Renowned mixed martial arts (MMA) journalist Ariel Helwani sent a tweet...