DREAM.3 LWGP 2nd Round Matches Revealed

MMANews.com's Jacob Spharler reporting:

DREAM has officially announced the bouts for the second round of the HEIWA DREAM Lightweight Grand Prix tournament, which is set for May 11 at the Saitama Super Arena. As previously reported, the winner of the Aoki/Calvancante fight, will go up against Olympic silver medalist Katsuhiko Nagata.

Nagata made it to the quarter-finals by defeating former Cage Force lightweight champion Artur Oumakhanov by unanimous decision, at DREAM.1 last month. Nagata will be a major underdog regardless of who wins the Aoki/Calvancante.

In another bout on the card, we'll see a rematch between Tatsuya Kawajiri and Luiz “Buscape” Firmino. These two originally faced one another in the PRIDE organization at Bushido 6, back in 2005. Kawajiri won that fight by unanimous decision. Firmino advanced into the second round by submitting K-1 HERO'S vet Kazuyuki Miyata, while Kawajiri wrestled Kultar “Black Mamba” Gill to a unanimous decision victory.

Also, set for the card we'll see Joachim Hansen go up against Eddie Alvarez. Both of these fighters looked great in the first round of the tournament. Hansen handled Krazy Bee's Kotetsu Boku on the feet and the ground, to take a decisive unanimous decision victory. Alvarez went up against last year's K-1 HERO'S tournamet runner-up Andre “Dida” Amade. He took Amade down at will and pounded him for a TKO victory.

Last but not least, we'll see Caol Uno square off with Mitsuhiro Ishida. Uno was originally scheduled for the first round, but couldn't compete due to an injury he suffered last year in a bout against Andre “Dida”. Uno was granted a pass into the second round. Ishida is really on a roll of late. He defeated Olympic silver medalist Bu-Kyung Jung by unanimous decision in the first round to advance. Prior to the he defeated the highly regarded Gilbert Melendez at Yarennoka.

DREAM.3 Lightweight Grand Prix 2nd Round
May 11, 2008
Saitama Super Arena, Saitama, Japan

-Tatsuya Kawajiri vs. Luiz “Buscape” Firmino
-Joachim Hansen vs. Eddie Alvarez
-Caol Uno vs. Mitsuhiro Ishida
-Katsuhiko Nagata vs. Aoki/Calvancante winner