Originally Posted by DirtyDirtBiker
Hmm I have to look this one up, I have never been tought it in class, but I never read anything about it in any tourny rules.
I'll try to ask the instructors about it
I asked one of my instructors about it when I started training (seeing as I use them all the time) and he said "in SW, yes you can use them. In BJJ: big no-no". Rules differ somewhat from school to school so check it out. If you can use them - Sweet. If not... eh, roll a bit after class and work on them anyways.