PDA

View Full Version : Weight loss for MMA

error2k5
06-22-2007, 05:53 AM
I thought I would ask you guys about this because i'm fairly new myself and I didn't want to give out the wrong information. I was recently asked a question that I couldn't answer, any feedback would be appreciated. A friend of mine wants to start going to classes with me but he's overweight. Should he work on weight loss before trying to go?

Metalhead
06-22-2007, 06:14 PM
I think he'll lose weight at class so why can't he go?

error2k5
06-22-2007, 09:17 PM
I think he'll lose weight at class so why can't he go?

he's worried about not being able to keep up I guess

Metalhead
06-22-2007, 10:15 PM
Just tell him to go to class. Nobody there judges and if they do they are assholes.

ftballdk
06-22-2007, 10:37 PM
Yeah, I wouldn't worry about it. I started training 2 weeks after I quit my 2 pack a day habit, and I was probably 20 lbs overweight with no real cardio endurance. I felt like Fatty McGee wheezing up a storm after 5 minutes but, no one criticized, in fact I received only encouragement, leading me to shed those 20 lbs while adding 20 or so of muscle.

Metalhead
06-23-2007, 12:47 AM
Most martial arts places you go everybody is extremely nice.....like almost TOO nice. Fucken weirdos.

jcflores
06-23-2007, 01:03 AM
Most martial arts places you go everybody is extremely nice.....like almost TOO nice. Fucken weirdos.
If they aren't nice to you, you would not get better, if you do get better then you comeback for the team enviroment. Plus being nice will atract more ppl meaning more $$ and the dojo/ gym / whatever can pay its bills. So overall its a win win situation for you, the gym and the trainers.

ukbuckeye
06-25-2007, 09:48 PM
Agree with everyone above - if it's a good dojo then everyone there will be fine with that.

It would be unreasonable for anyone to expect someone who's just starting out to keep up with a group of people who've been training for months or years.