PDA

View Full Version : Running Tips

thebwit
08-14-2007, 09:28 PM
So I have been running for about 2 years now on and off and in the last 2 months, I have started to enjoy it. These are just some tips that I have figured out (some the hard way) and thought I would pass them on.

Find a good pace. I don't have the best knees and I found that sprinting and running super slow sucks for my knees. A pace somewhere between 8:45 and 10:00 per mile seems to be working for me.

Start out small. My first run I did was a 6 mile run. Not smart. Start out with a 10 min run and increase from there. Once you aren't dead tired at the end of the 10 minutes, increase the time.

Get socks and boxers for running. Cotton is horrible. You want the stuff that wisks sweat away. Also don't use fabric softner on these in the laundry. I had a blister that covered over half the distance from the base of my big toe to my heel due to cotton socks.

Get the Nike+iPod thing. It really makes a difference and can help. Now I am to the point where I know how far I have run, but while running it can tell you how far you have run, average pace, and current time. After the run it tells you calories burned too.

These are just some things I have come up with. Any other tips would be great.

Metalhead
08-14-2007, 09:37 PM
I dont' wear underwear when I run. Commando style.

thebwit
08-14-2007, 09:51 PM
I dont' wear underwear when I run. Commando style.

I tried that to prevent chaffing, but it didn't help.

warrior06
08-15-2007, 09:45 AM
To combat chaffing, I either use lotion, aloe, or this stuff called "udder creme". The udder creme is basically a glorified lotion, but it works best for me. Aloe is very good as well.

http://www.uddercream.com/

thebwit
08-15-2007, 05:11 PM
ok a couple more tips from today's run.

Charge your iPod at night. I run in the morning and this morning my iPod was dead and it delayed me by 2 hours to start running.