PDA

View Full Version : Matt Hughes blog - week 4

Tick
10-12-2007, 01:47 PM
10/10/2007
Matt Hughes’ TUF Blog – Week Four
By Matt Hughes

I wasn’t happy after last week’s fight between Billy Miles and John Kolosci because I really felt that Billy didn’t go out there and perform like he should have. I think Billy’s a lot better than what he showed. Plus, team wise, we needed the victory, and more importantly, Billy needed that victory for himself to show the UFC that he’s a competitor in this sport. So he didn’t do anybody any favors by going out there and not being able to show everybody what he’s really got.

So my work was cut out for me this week and I had to get down to the business of motivating this team to get back on track. As a coach, I know everybody’s different, so motivating is different for everybody. You can’t go out there and do just one thing and expect everybody to be motivated, so I really have to see who’s coming up for a fight and really work on that person and get him mentally prepared. So that’s the strategy I took – I’ve got to try and motivate everybody, but at the same time, whoever’s got the fight coming up, I really have to specialize on him.

People ask me how you develop the ability to motivate, and for me, it comes from being around other coaches and understanding people. I like to listen to people and I like to figure them out. And knowing their personality and their background helps too. If I can figure out what type of personality somebody has, I can usually figure out how to motivate them - whether that’s yelling at him, constructive criticism, or just letting them feel confident that they’re gonna be the better fighter out there.