PDA

View Full Version : Looking to start submission wrestling

notBJpenn
12-26-2009, 09:50 PM
I'm looking to take some submission wrestling and Muay Thai classes at the start of 2010. I have no prior martial arts experience of any kind and the nearest gym is two hours away. Anyone got any advice for me so I can get the most out of this investment?

Smaciman
12-27-2009, 11:56 PM
practice practice practice.

When you've learnt something new, dry run it at home, practising the motions and timings.
It'll help build muscle memory to help you advance quicker.

Also, if you're going 2 hours there (kudos on the commitment) then do multiple classes in a row.

And the trick with Muay Thai is strong calves & (again) practice.
Squats at home, and practice of the basic techniques will help you un-learn everything you used to know to replace it with the Thai technique.
Your cardio will be shot for the 1st few months, but when your body catches up you'll be financially better off for the endeavour.

notBJpenn
12-28-2009, 01:30 AM
OK, thanks for the advice, do you know any good MT related cardio drills that I could do?

Smaciman
12-28-2009, 11:26 PM
squats & push-ups are the basics
then Hindu squats (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=75rslIm8v00) and Hindu push-ups (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ax_yqdvyscU&feature=related)

After that sit ups are good for your stamina and toughening your abs.
The best way to do them is link legs with a mate. On every even rise (2,4,6 etc.) one of you throws a jab cross into your partners hands
on the odd rises (1,3,5) etc. swap punching over.
Do this for 100 rises

Then depending on your kit, depends on what else you can do.
I use a large oak tree to do 100 max's (I have no idea why it's called that)
This involves doing a technique in 2's, then 4's, then 6's etc. up to 10's, then back down.
2,4,6,8,10,8,6,4,2 = 50
you then do these 10 times, so you do 500 repetitions.
So that could be 2 punches, then 4 etc, or 2 leg kicks, then 4 etc.