PDA

View Full Version : Hockey and Fighting ??

Punk Ass
05-16-2007, 10:58 PM
Now I am not a fan of Hockey by any means but what I don't understand is why is fighting legal??

This just doesn't make sense to me. I know it's legal until it goes to the ground, but that seems very barbaric and not needed. The game has rules and if a rule is broken (like a guy hitting someone with the stick) and a fight breaks out, that is understandable, but what the hell is the reason for fighting being legal?

The NFL might as well let the football players go at it, hell why not have B Ball throwdowns, I would love to see Shack vs Kobe lol.

warrior06
05-17-2007, 12:03 AM
I'm not a hockey expert. But i've been a fan for many years, especially after the LA Kings with the "Great One" made it to the Finals in 93.

But there is a long-standing tradition of fighting in hockey. Fighting offers the players to police themselves. If an opposing player throws a dirty body check on your best player, that may be grounds for a fight. In the playoffs, it is unlikely to see teams fight, usually only in the 1st game. Also, fighting on ice offers only arm punches, to balance and cause a season ending injury is unlikely. Remember they have fiberglass sticks, better two guys slug it out for a few seconds than whack each others heads off. I am sure there are a lot of other valid reasons why NHL allows fighting, but as I regress I have never seen a hockey fight in Olympic play. But the ice surface is bigger and you usually only play a team once or twice.

Like in a lot of sports, intimidation is a big part of it.
NBA is a bunch of primadonnas, always wanting a foul. I used to like basketball. They don't fight, they flagrant foul and chance ending careers, or a teams hope for championship. ala Horry's forearm shiver on Nash. Now thats ugly.

The NFL is a whole different creature. The game is founded on being physical, it doesnt take a fight to hurt someone.