Reply to Thread

Post a reply to the thread: Photo: Akira Corassaniís nose broken in five places due to illegal knee

Your Message

Click here to log in

What is the last name of UFC's President?

 
 

You may choose an icon for your message from this list

Additional Options

  • Will turn www.example.com into [URL]http://www.example.com[/URL].

HTML

Topic Review (Newest First)

  • 12-03-2013, 09:42 PM
    Cat--Smasher
    Corassani: It was the worst f–king feeling I’ve ever felt in my life

    “It was the worst f–king feeling I’ve ever felt in my life,” Corassani admits.

    Corassani (12-3 MMA, 3-0 UFC) was sitting in a plastic surgeon’s office, beginning the reconstruction process for his nose necessitated when Maximo Blanco (9-5-1 MMA, 1-2 UFC) landed an illegal knee during their matchup at this past Saturday’s The Ultimate Fighter 18 Finale event.

    A few days removed from the bout, Corassani admitted he still doesn’t remember exactly how it all played out.

    “I knew that that the first two minutes of the fight were going to be tough,” Corassani. “I was prepared mentally, physically, spiritually, because we knew he was going to swarm. The plan was to counter and pivot and weather the storm before turning the momentum and trying to knock him out.
  • 12-02-2013, 01:33 PM
    Rise
    Quote Originally Posted by lordpyro View Post
    It was a matter of timing. If the knee would have been one second later it would have been legal.
    Which I understand him not waiting that extra one second makes it intentional though is all I'm trying to say.
  • 12-02-2013, 09:38 AM
    lordpyro
    Quote Originally Posted by Rise View Post
    I haven't seen it yet, but throwing knees when the opponent isn't up yet would be considered intentional no ?
    It was a matter of timing. If the knee would have been one second later it would have been legal.
  • 12-02-2013, 02:21 AM
    Rise
    Quote Originally Posted by Sniggles View Post
    Should have been a no contest. Akira was on his way up.

    DQ is intentional or recklessness.
    I haven't seen it yet, but throwing knees when the opponent isn't up yet would be considered intentional no ?
  • 12-02-2013, 02:15 AM
    IceCold48
    Quote Originally Posted by Pasha K View Post
    Can anyone explain me why in some cases a fighter throws something illegal and he is declared winner, other times it is a NC and other times it is a DQ. How does it work?
    DQ means the ref deemed it to be on purpose, NC is accidental.
  • 12-02-2013, 12:55 AM
    Sniggles
    Should have been a no contest. Akira was on his way up.

    DQ is intentional or recklessness.
  • 12-02-2013, 12:48 AM
    Pasha K
    Can anyone explain me why in some cases a fighter throws something illegal and he is declared winner, other times it is a NC and other times it is a DQ. How does it work?
  • 12-01-2013, 02:59 PM
    Fe1
    Not sure what the rules are like where he's fighting in those gifs but assuming stomps and soccer kicks are legal, the only one that looks bad to me is the third one.
  • 12-01-2013, 01:22 PM
    Cat--Smasher
    TUF 18 Finale results: UFCs Akira Corassani brands Maximo Blanco repeat illegal striker, 'might have something in his head'
    http://www.mmamania.com/2013/12/1/51...lification-mma

    It wasn't so clear, however, to Blanco, who curiously celebrated inside the Octagon and had to be informed by Yamasaki that he had in fact lost the fight. The Venezuelan fighter's coaches entered the cage and pleaded with the referee, insisting the rule was something that was "on its way out [of MMA]."


    Moments later, Nevada State Athletic Commission (NSAC) Executive Director Keith Kizer interrupted the dialogue and live microphones overheard him imploring Yamasaki to watch replay if he needed to, but it wasn't necessary.

    For Corassani, who spoke with FOX Sports 1 after the event, the way the fight ended shouldn't come as much of a surprise to anyone.

    "He knees a lot when a guy is on his way up. Listen, I don't want to be disrespectful or anything, but he has done this before, this is not the first time, he does this all the time. He did the same thing to Pat Healy -- Pat had a heel hook on him one time and he starts stomping him in Strikeforce which is illegal. I understand he trains and lives in Japan, he has a lot of fights in Japan where you can stomp and kick to the head, I don't know maybe he doesn't understand the rules -- I know he understands the rules but maybe something in his head..."
    Blanco's history of violence courtesy of the UG:



  • 12-01-2013, 01:06 PM
    Fe1
    Really disappointed by the result of this fight. I was really expecting it to be a great fight.
This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may post attachments
  • You may edit your posts
  •