- Other Sports
- - Switch Pitcher??
|Maniac ||06-21-2008 02:10 PM |
NYC Switch Pitcher Confounds Batters, Umpires
Saturday, June 21, 2008
NEW YORK — Ambidextrous pitcher Pat Venditte can confound hitters — and umpires — when he's on the mound.
The umps working a game Thursday night between the Class-A Staten Island Yankees and the Brooklyn Cyclones had nothing to go by when Venditte made his professional debut, less than two weeks after getting drafted in the 20th round by the Yankees.
He pitched the ninth, and after retiring two batters and allowing a single, a switch hitter stepped to the plate for Brooklyn. That's hardly unusual. But it becomes intriguing against Venditte, a switch pitcher.
Things got a tad dizzying when designated hitter Ralph Henriquez, who had taken his on-deck circle swings as a lefty, entered the batter's box from the right side.
Venditte put his specially made glove (it has six fingers, two webs and fits on both hands) on his left hand, and got ready to pitch right-handed.
Henriquez then changed his mind and switched sides of the plate, because a batter sees the ball sooner when it is thrown by a pitcher using the opposite hand.
So Venditte shifted his glove to the other hand.
Then it happened again.
Apparently unsure of how the rules handle such an oddity, the umpires didn't stop the cat-and-mouse game until Venditte walked toward the plate and said something while pointing at Henriquez. Umpires and both managers then huddled and the umps decided the batter and pitcher can both change sides one time per at-bat, and that the batter must declare first.
The ruling favored the pitcher, since he gets to declare last.
About seven minutes after he first stepped in, Henriquez struck out on four pitches as a righty against a right-handed Venditte and slammed his bat in frustration. Staten Island won, 7-2.
Anybody ever heard of this happening...besides maybe in little league? I'd love to see the video on this.
Full story- FOXNews.com - NYC Switch Pitcher Confounds Batters, Umpires - Local News | News Articles | National News | US News
|MYboyBISPING ||06-22-2008 06:37 AM |
[IMG]<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/KR5EdxRGm6o&hl=en"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/KR5EdxRGm6o&hl=en" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>[/IMG]
Yeah I saw this on SC and that is some gamesmanship between those two but once again pitching counts.
|Frag x 3 ||07-02-2008 09:12 PM |
Hahaha, this is so weird, I was just thinking about this the other day. I was wondering if there were any switch-pitchers, but I never heard anything of the sort. Good find!
|Paytheplayer ||07-15-2008 11:16 AM |
This was funny, about 3 days before this happened, I was actually asking if this situation occurred, who would have to make up their mind first? I found out that the pitcher did, when I watched a baseball game the next day, and they actually brought it up. Then the day after that, this happens.
|All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:44 PM. || |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.