+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ring or Octagon?

Lightbulb Ring or Octagon?

Let me get the obvious part out of the way for everyone before we really debate this. Yes, the octagon is much cooler than a standard ring.

Now, here’s a real argument.

Would it not be a million times easier to convince the narrow minded media and traditionalists that MMA is certainly a legitimate sport if they used a ring? Sure, they would be throwing away a lot of tradition as far as the UFC goes, and this will never happen as long as we live.. But I feel the UFC would find itself on ESPN a lot faster if they could find a way to make that happen. When you look or hear about a cage fight, you automatically think of the word gimmick, a word UFC wants to avoid as a way of avoiding any comparison to wrestling. I was a pro wrestling fan before I was a fan of any sport, as I had been a fan since somewhere around age 2. You aks me just about anything about wrestling past, or wrestling inner workings and 9 times out of 10 I can give you the correct answer. Since I started getting into MMA completely, I can’t even look at a wrestling show without cringing. (Though that might have something to do with the decline of quality in their programming)

My point? As a wrestling fan, I used to have my doubts on whether UFC was real or not. I mean, it was obvious they hurt each other. It was obvious people suffered legitimate injuries. It was obvious that they weren’t trying as hard to make it super entertaining 100% of the time, but when you are looking at a cage, along with a slogan that says “As real as it gets” you begin to wonder who they are trying to convince with that slogan.