Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Photo: Akira Corassaniís nose broken in five places due to illegal knee

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    19,194

    Default Photo: Akira Corassaniís nose broken in five places due to illegal knee

    Photo: Akira Corassani’s nose broken in five places due to illegal knee




    According to Corassani (via Instagram):

    Broke my nose in 5 places which was not as bad as the concussion from the knee. The dizziness got worse gradually and I was rocked as hell. Truthfully I dont remember much but this was not the way I wanted to win, I was more than ready for this fight and due to a stupid move the fight was ruined. Thanks for all your support and I’ll be back soon!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Sackville N.B
    Posts
    3,157

    Default

    Really disappointed by the result of this fight. I was really expecting it to be a great fight.

    Quote Originally Posted by AnchorPunch View Post
    So if I don't sin, when I die, I go to Canada? Right?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    19,194

    Default

    TUF 18 Finale results: UFCs Akira Corassani brands Maximo Blanco repeat illegal striker, 'might have something in his head'
    http://www.mmamania.com/2013/12/1/51...lification-mma

    It wasn't so clear, however, to Blanco, who curiously celebrated inside the Octagon and had to be informed by Yamasaki that he had in fact lost the fight. The Venezuelan fighter's coaches entered the cage and pleaded with the referee, insisting the rule was something that was "on its way out [of MMA]."


    Moments later, Nevada State Athletic Commission (NSAC) Executive Director Keith Kizer interrupted the dialogue and live microphones overheard him imploring Yamasaki to watch replay if he needed to, but it wasn't necessary.

    For Corassani, who spoke with FOX Sports 1 after the event, the way the fight ended shouldn't come as much of a surprise to anyone.

    "He knees a lot when a guy is on his way up. Listen, I don't want to be disrespectful or anything, but he has done this before, this is not the first time, he does this all the time. He did the same thing to Pat Healy -- Pat had a heel hook on him one time and he starts stomping him in Strikeforce which is illegal. I understand he trains and lives in Japan, he has a lot of fights in Japan where you can stomp and kick to the head, I don't know maybe he doesn't understand the rules -- I know he understands the rules but maybe something in his head..."
    Blanco's history of violence courtesy of the UG:




  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Sackville N.B
    Posts
    3,157

    Default

    Not sure what the rules are like where he's fighting in those gifs but assuming stomps and soccer kicks are legal, the only one that looks bad to me is the third one.

    Quote Originally Posted by AnchorPunch View Post
    So if I don't sin, when I die, I go to Canada? Right?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Very far
    Posts
    9,493

    Default

    Can anyone explain me why in some cases a fighter throws something illegal and he is declared winner, other times it is a NC and other times it is a DQ. How does it work?
    Not only brazilians can do this stuff


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC
    Posts
    16,306

    Default

    Should have been a no contest. Akira was on his way up.

    DQ is intentional or recklessness.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    NY--->MIA
    Posts
    8,266

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pasha K View Post
    Can anyone explain me why in some cases a fighter throws something illegal and he is declared winner, other times it is a NC and other times it is a DQ. How does it work?
    DQ means the ref deemed it to be on purpose, NC is accidental.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,564

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sniggles View Post
    Should have been a no contest. Akira was on his way up.

    DQ is intentional or recklessness.
    I haven't seen it yet, but throwing knees when the opponent isn't up yet would be considered intentional no ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    790

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rise View Post
    I haven't seen it yet, but throwing knees when the opponent isn't up yet would be considered intentional no ?
    It was a matter of timing. If the knee would have been one second later it would have been legal.
    You know why people have eyes in the front? Because they have to move forward to see the landscape in the distance. If you had eyes in back all you could see is your home town getting farther away; you can't move forward like that. If your eyes are in front what you see in the distance keeps getting closer. That's what lets people move forward.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2,564

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lordpyro View Post
    It was a matter of timing. If the knee would have been one second later it would have been legal.
    Which I understand him not waiting that extra one second makes it intentional though is all I'm trying to say.
    Last edited by Rise; 12-03-2013 at 12:16 AM.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •