Saturday, December 4, 2021

Marc Ratner: Cro Cop Win Will Not Be Overturned

UFC Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, Marv Ratner spoke to MMAweekly.com about Mustapha Al-Turk's appeal following his loss to Mirko Cro Cop at UFC 99. Cro Cop accidentally poked Al-Turk in the eye which led up to the TKO victory:

“It’s very simple. By the unified rules… first of all the referee didn’t see the foul. What you’re asking is can we go to instant replay. You’re saying now that the fight’s over, can you take a look at it? If the referee had seen the finger and stopped the fight immediately, he could have given a stop for five minutes to recover, and then if (Al-Turk) couldn’t have gone on, it would have been a no-contest…. In any sport, a judgment call cannot be overturned. It’s one of those things that happens, but nobody saw it around the Octagon until the replay.”

Thanks for visiting MMANews.com, a leading source for MMA News since 2002.
Follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google News.

Trending Articles

More Top Stories