Monday, November 28, 2022

Linear Heavyweight Title On The Line In Strikeforce Heavyweight GP? has a piece up regarding the upcoming Strikeforce Heavyweight Grand Prix and how the although the Strikeforce or UFC Heavyweight straps aren't on the line, the linear heavyweight title is:

Mark Coleman beat Daniel Severn wins first UFC heavyweight champion
02/07/1997 UFC 12: Judgement Day Submission 2:57 of Round 1

Maurice Smith beat Mark Coleman
07/27/1997 UFC 14: Showdown Decision Unanimous Decision

Randy Couture beat Maurice Smith
12/21/1997 UFC: Ultimate Japan 1 Decision Majority Decision

Enson Inoue beat Randy Couture
10/25/1998 Loss Vale Tudo Japan 98 Submission Arm Bar 1:39 Round 1

Mark Kerr beat Enson Inoue
01/30/2000 Pride: Grand Prix 2000 Opening Round Decision

Kazuyuki Fujita beat Mark Kerr, shortest running linear champion (part of an evening)
05/01/2000 Pride: Grand Prix 2000 Final Round Decision Unanimous Decision

Mark Coleman beat Kazuyuki Fujita by forfeit, becoming the only two-time linear champion
05/01/2000 Pride: Grand Prix 2000 Final Round TKO/RSC Corner Threw in the Towel due to a Knee Injury

Antonio Nogueira beat Mark Coleman, enjoys second longest run as linear champion
09/24/2001 Pride 16: Beasts From The East Submission Arm Bar 6:10 of Round 1

Fedor Emelianenko beat Antonio Nogueira, longest running linear champion
12/31/2004 Pride: Shock Wave 2004 Decision Unanimous Decision

Fabricio Werdum beat Fedor Emelianenko
06/26/2010 Strikeforce: Insider Submission Arm Triangle Choke 1:09 Round 1

The Strikeforce title is not on the line in the upcoming heavyweight tournament, but is the linear title?