Tuesday, August 9, 2022

Conor McGregor, Holly Holm, Robbie Lawler Among 2016 ESPY Award Nominees

On Wednesday, ESPN announced that three UFC fighters are up for ESPY Awards this year.

Reigning UFC Featherweight Champion Conor McGregor, former UFC Women’s Bantamweight Champion Holly Holm and current UFC Welterweight Champion Robbie Lawler are all up for ESPY Awards.

McGregor was nominated in the Breakthrough Athlete and Best Fighter of the Year categories, while Holm is up for Best Play and Biggest Upset for her UFC 193 knockout victory over Ronda Rousey. “Ruthless” Robbie Lawler is up for Best Fighter of the Year, which McGregor is also nominated for.

In the 2015 ESPY Awards, Rousey infamously won for Best Female Athlete and Best Fighter of the Year, where she went on to call out Floyd Mayweather during her acceptance speech for his controversial past with domestic violence.

Voting for the 2016 ESPY Awards, which features McGregor, Holm and Lawler, ends on July 13, the same day the show airs. You can cast your votes here.

Related Articles

Follow MMA News

Related Articles