WBA Featherweight Title Results: Santa Cruz Outclasses Rivera

Check out MMA News' coverage of the WBA featherweight championship fight between Leo Santa Cruz and Rafael Rivera.


Tonight (Sat. February 16, 2019) WBA featherweight champion Leo Santa Cruz defended his title on FOX. Cruz faced Rafael Rivera in the main event of the night. Cruz was on a three-fight win streak since suffering his first career loss to Carl Frampton in 2016. He made his third consecutive title defense against Rivera with a unanimous decision victory. Rivera came in off a knockout win over Jose Ramos after suffering the first two losses of his career.

Check out MMA News’ coverage of the Cruz vs. Rivera fight card here:

  • WBA featherweight title: (C) Leo Santa Cruz def. Rafael Rivera (119-109, 119-109, 119-109)
  • Welterweight: Omar Figueroa Jr. def. John Molina Jr. via unanimous decision (97-93, 98-92, 99-91)
  • Junior featherweight: Cesar Juarez vs. Ryosuke Iwasa
  • IBF strawweight title: (C) Carlos Licona vs. DeeJay Kriel
  • Featherweight: Marlon Tapales vs. TBA
  • Middleweight: Hugo Centeno Jr. vs. Oscar Cortez
  • Junior middleweight: Sebastian Fundora def. Donnie Marshall via R3 TKO (1:08)